Walking Shadows on the Davitt Awards shortlist

Sisters in Crime has announced the shortlist for the 13th Davitt Awards for Australian Women’s Crime Writing

Walking Shadows by our very own Narrelle Harris joins a criminally good lineup in the shortlist for this year's Best Adult Novel.

A record 61 books published in 2012 competed for five Davitts:

Best Novel (Adult);
Best Novel (Kids' & YA);
Best True Crime Book;
Best Debut Book (any category); Readers’ Choice
(voted by the members of Sisters in Crime Australia).

This year the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented.

The complete shortlist is:

Davitt Award for Best Adult Novel

  • Kathryn Fox, Cold Grave (Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • Sulari Gentill, Paving the New Road (Pantera Press)
  • Maggie Groff, Mad Men, Bad Girls and the Guerilla Knitters Institute (Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • Narrelle M Harris, Walking Shadows (Clan Destine Press)
  • Katherine Howell, Silent Fear (Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • Malla Nunn, Silent Valley (Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • Caroline Overington, Sisters of Mercy (Random House)
  • Josephine Pennicott, The Poet’s Cottage (Pan Macmillan Australia)

Davitt Award for Best Children’s/Young Adult Novel

  • Sonya Hartnett, The Children of the King (Penguin Books Australia)
  • Sophie Masson, Moonlight and Ashes (Random House)
  • Jen Storer, Truly Tan (HarperCollins)
  • Jennifer Walsh, The Tunnels of Tarcoola (Allen & Unwin)

Davitt Award for Best True Crime Book

  • Pamela Burton, The Waterlow Killings: a portrait of a family tragedy (Melbourne University Publishing)
  • Justine Ford, Missing You (The Five Mile Press)

The Awards will be be presented at a gala dinner presented by Sisters in Crime Australia from 7pm on Saturday 31 August, at the Thornbury Theatre, Thornbury in Melbourne.

Special guest Davitt Awards presenter is leading New Zealand crime writer, Vanda Symon.